Close ☰
Menu ☰


25th November, 2015

Guildhall Symphony Orchestra

Event Details

25th November, 2015
Barbican Hall
£15, £10 (£5 concessions)

Michail Jurowski conductor
Julian Clef piano

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1 in C, Op. 15
Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 in E minor Op. 93

Written in 1953 following the death of Stalin and considered as a commentary on the Soviet dictator’s rule, Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony has been described as ‘forty-eight minutes of tragedy, despair and terror, followed by two minutes of triumph’. The Guildhall Symphony Orchestra welcomes esteemed conductor Michail Jurowski to the podium to conduct this powerful work.

Before this, Guildhall pianist Julian Clef joins the orchestra for Beethoven’s playful Piano Concerto No. 1.


£15, £10 (£5 concessions) available from the Barbican Box Office

Refine Results

  • Select date range (from/to)

Upcoming Events


Includes the launch of a special collection of papers on #KnowledgeExchange, drawn from a 2019/2 KE and the creative industries seminar series, with an intro and reflective commentary by @Emma_Cole1:… (3/4)

in association with